Weekend Getaway

Somebody ditched us, but we pushed through with our planned Saturday trip anyway because we were really excited to go out and play. Despite little occurrences that slightly affected the original plan, we still enjoyed that one day away from all the stress and pressure of city living.

Flashback: One Saturday, I felt like an extremely boring human being that I realized I have to do something extraordinary to spice up my life. While it is true that working in this industry entails different happenings every single day, I couldn’t stay away from the fact that while experiences are always new, I always wake up for the reason that I have to look for stories, interview officials, write, chase deadlines, and explain the fucks of random facts.

So while I was busy working on my Sunday for Monday stories, I was live tweeting about my sentiments underpinning my not extremely but somehow incomplete and boring life. Then, a friend of mine responded and out-of-nowhere, we decided to do different things to complement this ugh life I live. Following the twitter exchange, we talked about the road trip over cups of coffee and box of cupcakes from a friend who just came from a random dinner-drinking session.

The plan was Mads will drive, and well, two other friends will be coming with us. The venue, Tagaytay. While it was not completely exciting for me because I just live a jeepney away from that place, it was at least something new to spend the day in that place with a different set of people. With this eagerness to push through with the trip, we ended up planning another road trip with our other beat-friends one coverage-free day.

And because nobody could stop us, Mads and I decided to pursue the trip even though it’s just the two of us. Scrap the road trip because we ended up riding the bus because… well, we’re both girls and it’s kind of risky. We also don’t know how to drive going there. It was Mads’ first time, and whenever my father drives me home, I am always asleep so I know the basic route, but the little twists and turns… I just couldn’t be sure.

Riding the bus wasn’t less fun, because for more or less two hours, we shared tons of stories. Happy and sad ones. Anyway, here’s a glimpse of how our day turned out. It was a tiring but fun day! I want to do this again soon!

En route to Tagaytay at 11AM! :)
En route to Tagaytay at 11AM! 🙂
Lunch @ Tootsie's, a casual dining restaurant. We're so lucky that my Nanay love and mom just finished having their meals there, so my lola paid for our lunch! Sulit! Sarap! :)
Lunch @ Tootsie’s, a casual dining restaurant. We’re so lucky that my Nanay love and mom just finished having their meals there, so my lola paid for our lunch! Sulit! Sarap! 🙂

Check out this blog to know a little more about Tootsie’s: Good Food @ Tootsie’s Tagaytay

And then because we want to see some "sights", we ended up at Picnic Grove...
And then because we want to see some “sights”, we ended up at Picnic Grove…
... to take photos...
… to take photos…

... enjoy the cool breeze...
… enjoy the cool breeze…

... to enjoy the sight...
… to enjoy the sight…

... to eat taho...
… to eat taho…
... to look for a horse named Miguel...
… to look for a horse named Miguel…
... to share more stories...
… to share more stories…
... and take more photos...
… and take more photos…
... and take more photos...
… and take more photos…
IMG_4170IMG_4172IMG_4173IMG_4175

And after that, we went to Silang to enjoy another free meal courtesy of my cousin! She just graduated from high school, and the big family celebrated at this nature-loving restaurant near our place. 🙂 Unfortunately, we weren’t able to take photos, but the food was really great! Didn’t spend a cent to eat good fooooood! Yaaay! So sulit.

More laughter, more food, more stories… then we went back to Manila to embrace “real life.” But then again, that day was awesome so I guess spending that day away from the hustle bustle of the city, with a good friend, was worth it anyway. 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mads says:

    I just love this blog post in so many many many ways!

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think. :)

