Old Friend

I have this tendency to worry too much over very little things, but thank God all is well.

A good friend of mine, from the old times, underwent some kind of an operation yesterday. I barely know the specifics, as he doesn’t feed much information in text messages. Some random guy fired his gun the other night, and my friend was an unexpected victim. He was rushed to the hospital and had his operation the following morning. And he is all well.

I was damn worried yesterday. I first read the “news” via twitter (ah! the power of that microblogging site), saying that my friend was shot and he texted that twitter user regarding what happened. So anyway, I didn’t take it seriously because he loves pranks. Plus, we were texting the other night so if ever it really happened, I know for sure that he’d tell me the news himself. It took hours before I finally decided to confirm the news, and it was kind of hard because I and my friend belong to very different circles of friends – a few mutual ones, but I’m not really close to his barkada. I was caught off guard when I realized that everything was true, and I started building assumptions.

So anyway, I was able to talk to him last night after he was discharged from the recovery room, and I am talking to him right now (thank God for cellphones), and he’s well. He just needs some time to rest and recover (and it made me wonder why he was discharged from the recovery room when he still needs to recover, but maybe an ordinary ward will do. I don’t really get that one). He will be confined for a couple of days or weeks maybe, but still good news is good news. He was not hurt that bad, though he admitted that it’s kind of painful to survive the gun shot. At least… at least.

This friend was my “best friend” in some stages of my life. You know, that kind that sticks to you for some particular period of time, then eventually walks out of your life… although not totally but you just don’t remain like “best friends” anymore but you still consider calling or texting or seeing him whenever you have a confession to make that you cannot tell your other friends.

I just realized that even though we already grew apart, I still have this certain connection with him. Old friends, you know. After all, we shared a superb friendship way back, and its a genuine one.

I’m praying for his speedy recovery. And again, thank God. Today is a new day… and he’ll be better. 🙂

“In loneliness, in sickness, in confusion-the mere knowledge of friendship makes it possible to endure, even if the friend is powerless to help. It is enough that they exist. Friendship is not diminished by distance or time, by imprisonment or war, by suffering or silence. It is in these things that it roots most deeply. It is from these things that it flowers.” -Pam Brown

One Comment Add yours

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think. :)

