Sui Generis

Looking up an unfamiliar word in the built-in dictionary of my phone is a peculiar habit of mine, and it started when I became addicted to books way back in college. I have this tendency to “star” or “favorite” words that I like and add them to the dictionary’s “my vocabulary”. So what about? The title of this post, SUI GENERIS, is one of the many words that I marked as favorite. If you describe something as SUI GENERIS, you mean that there is nothing else of the same kind and you cannot make judgments about it based on other things.

So yeah. SUI GENERIS. My friendship with my best friend is SUI GENERIS. I’m quite expressive when it comes to this friendship I share with her because really, it’s different. I feel like I’ve known her forever. She’s the one that I go to for an honest advice. She shows genuine support and accepts my quirky little habits. She’s someone I can call or text anytime because she has been there all along, as we share our secrets, our dreams.

When I first met you, I actually didn’t think that it was going to be anything more than a “hi-hello” kind of friendship. But after we spent time with each other, talking about the drama in our lives, exchanging profound philosophies we have about life and love, and laughing our hearts out at just about anything… I knew I found my soul-sister.

Happy birthday, dearest Gel. I always thank God for sharing you with me. Thank you for bringing me closer to Him when my faith’s getting shaky. Thank you for reminding me that I am loved, that I am blessed. Really, I never expected that I’d find a friend like you. Girlfriends are the best!

I do miss those times when we would just sit down and talk about nothing and everything. Hours can pass without us realizing it. I know we’re not talking “too much” and “that much” nowadays, but I know one of these days, we’re going to have another “us moment”… we will talk about everything that happened all throughout those months after college. Someday, soon.

When all is said and done, I just love being friends with you because you are you, and believe me, that’s a reason enough.

So here’s to our friendship! Here’s to all our good and bad times together! Here’s to the many more memories we are going to share! Here’s to all the failures and successes that will come our way. I love you, Gel.

PICTURES. 🙂

Here are some photos of Gel’s 21st birthday celebration in Tomas Morato. We had our favorite kind of night out – dining out with friends, catching up, laughing and singing and dancing non-stop! That night was a good good night!

First part: Dinner @ Shakey’s 🙂
The birthday girl with her birthday cake. 🙂
Part 2: Videowkeh @ Music Match! 🙂
All the girls. 🙂
Cheers!!!

Yaaaaay! 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think. :)

